
Onyx Weight Loss review
By Aminoscope editorial desk · Aminoscope
Small clinic, named team
Our verdict
Onyx makes a deliberate trade: a small nurse-practitioner-led clinic that names its founders, its clinicians and its dispensing pharmacy, prices each molecule plainly, and reaches only nine states.
Main trade-offs
- Serves nine states only: NC, CO, NE, IA, PA, VA, VT, NH and ME
- $299/month for sermorelin and for NAD⁺ is a premium price
Disclosure: Aminoscope is reader-supported. We may earn a commission from partner links, at no extra cost to you. This never changes our assessment. How we make money.
Compounded medicines are not FDA-approved. A licensed clinician must assess whether treatment is appropriate; availability does not establish safety or benefit.
Good fit
People in its nine states who want a small, named clinical team and a named pharmacy, and will pay a premium for it.
Consider other options if
Anyone outside those nine states, anyone comparing on price, or anyone who needs monitoring labs included in a peptide plan.
Cost and care at a glance
- Category
- Peptide telehealth
- Published cost
- Sermorelin $299/month; NC, CO, ME, VT, VA, IA, NH, PA and NE only, dispensed via Strive Pharmacy
- Insurance
- Cash-pay, no insurance
- Visit
- Video visit
- Availability
- 9 states: NC, CO, NE, IA, PA, VA, VT, NH, ME
Our review in detail
Full assessment
Onyx makes a deliberate trade: a small nurse-practitioner-led clinic that names its founders, its clinicians and its dispensing pharmacy, prices each molecule plainly, and reaches only nine states. Sermorelin and NAD⁺ are both $299 a month, a premium price: you are paying for a named, small care team rather than a national platform's scale. Whether that premium is worth paying is a judgment about what you want from the clinical relationship, not a pricing error.
What it is
Onyx Weight Loss is a telehealth clinic based at 119 Poplar Pointe Drive in Mooresville, North Carolina, founded by Tasha Vangile, FNP-C and Madalyn Vangile, RN, with Stephanie Robison, APRN-CNP as a second nurse practitioner and a team of registered nurses, a nutrition coach and a clinical coordinator. Its menu runs GLP-1 and GLP-1/GIP weight-loss plans (from $228/month and $280/month, with a $99/month microdosing option), phentermine, lipotropic and B12 injections, a peptides shelf of sermorelin, NAD⁺, GHK-Cu, glutathione and PT-141, low-dose naltrexone, bioidentical hormone replacement including testosterone, and nutrition coaching. Medication is dispensed through a named partner, Strive Pharmacy.
How care works
Clinician-led and consultation-first: you book a free consultation with a nurse practitioner, complete an intake and consent form at least 48 hours ahead, are evaluated by video, and medication with any supplies needed ships to your home if a plan is appropriate. The distinguishing feature is scale in the other direction — this is a named team with stated careers rather than an anonymous provider network behind a quiz, and the site names its dispensing pharmacy. Nutrition coaching exists as a separate service rather than being bundled into a plan price, which is at least honestly presented. The constraints are structural. Coverage is nine states — North Carolina, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine — shown on a map image rather than a text list, and the map's own caption omits Nebraska, so confirm your state. No LegitScript certification is claimed; the credentialing on the site is local business awards. The hormone line starts with a $199 comprehensive assessment that includes a 46-plus-biomarker lab panel and a virtual review, but nothing comparable is described for the peptide line. Its GLP-1 pages also never name semaglutide or tirzepatide directly, describing the plans by mechanism instead, and the compounded status is implied by the Strive Pharmacy relationship rather than stated.
Costs, billing and cancellation
Sermorelin is $299/month and NAD⁺ is $299/month, each stated on its own product page. The rest of the peptide shelf is priced too: GHK-Cu starting at $199/month, PT-141 nasal spray at $299, and glutathione, sold as a nasal spray, at $129/month. Its GLP-1 plans start at $228/month and $280/month and a microdosing option is $99/month; those are entry-tier figures with no dose-escalation pricing published — a limitation likely to apply to the peptide line too, so ask whether $299 holds as a provider adjusts your dose. The sermorelin and NAD⁺ figures sit well above the usual range: comparable sermorelin sits between $149 and $195 a month at several national platforms, and comparable NAD⁺ between $149 and $219. What Onyx offers in exchange is a small named care team and a named pharmacy, which is a real thing to buy but is not a price advantage. Labs are priced only for the hormone line ($199 assessment with a lab panel), so budget for them separately if your peptide protocol needs monitoring.
Medication and evidence
Compounded; not FDA-approved. Prescription required only if a licensed provider finds it appropriate. Onyx's site does not state the compounded status explicitly — it is implied by its Strive Pharmacy partnership, Strive being a known compounding pharmacy — and compounded preparations are not reviewed by the FDA for purity and potency the way approved drugs are. On evidence, the five-molecule shelf runs across very different tiers. Sermorelin is a GHRH analog acting on your own pituitary, a real mechanism with thin long-term human outcome data. Injected NAD⁺ has no controlled human outcome trials at all; the oral precursors NR and NMN are the studied forms and what they show is a raised blood NAD⁺ level, a biomarker rather than a benefit. GHK-Cu is a copper-binding tripeptide with a genuinely interesting cell and animal literature on collagen synthesis and wound repair, and essentially no controlled human outcome data behind the claims made for it. Glutathione is in the same position, and a nasal spray adds a route with even less study behind it. PT-141 (bremelanotide) is the exception: an FDA-approved drug, but for one narrow indication — acquired, generalized hypoactive sexual desire disorder in premenopausal women — so a compounded nasal spray prescribed to anyone else is off-label use of an approved molecule in an unapproved form. Individual results vary.
Pros and watch-outs
What we like
- Names its founders, its clinical team and its dispensing pharmacy (Strive Pharmacy)
- Names five specific peptides and puts a price on each
- Nurse-practitioner-led care from clinicians with long stated nursing careers
- Free consultation before any plan, rather than a quiz-and-ship flow
- Multi-modal clinic — peptides, hormones, GLP-1 and nutrition coaching under one team
Watch-outs
- Serves nine states only: NC, CO, NE, IA, PA, VA, VT, NH and ME
- $299/month for sermorelin and for NAD⁺ is a premium price
- No LegitScript certification; credentialing on the site is local business awards
- Labs are priced for the hormone line only; no bloodwork protocol is described for peptides
- Compounded status is implied by the pharmacy partnership rather than stated, and the GLP-1 pages never name the drugs
Best for
People in its nine states who want a small, named clinical team and a named pharmacy, and will pay a premium for it.
Who should look elsewhere
Anyone outside those nine states, anyone comparing on price, or anyone who needs monitoring labs included in a peptide plan.
Research relevant to Onyx Weight Loss
Explore the evidence and its limits. Findings apply to the formulation, route and population studied; they do not establish the quality or effectiveness of a provider’s products.
- Sermorelin benefits: does it work? What the trials show
A real GHRH drug, read against the anti-aging pitch: an approved growth-hormone-releasing analog with a pediatric track record, and a longevity case built more on biomarkers than outcomes.
- NAD+ precursors (NR and NMN): what the human trials actually show
They raise NAD+ and look safe short-term, but human evidence is surrogate-marker level, and no trial shows they extend healthspan.
- GHK-Cu: the copper peptide between real skincare and overclaim
A decades-deep molecule with a credible topical story — and systemic anti-aging claims that outrun the human data.
- Glutathione: the master antioxidant, and where the evidence actually is
Oral glutathione really does raise your body stores (a 6-month RCT proved it) — but the longevity and detox claims are unproven, skin-lightening is modest, and IV glutathione is the most marketed, least evidenced route. The precursors may be the smarter bet.
- PT-141 (bremelanotide): the evidence on a peptide that is actually FDA-approved
Bremelanotide (Vyleesi) is FDA-approved for HSDD in premenopausal women, with phase-3 trial evidence. A straight read of what's proven — and where off-label use goes beyond it.
How Onyx Weight Loss compares
A few alternatives worth a look, depending on what you’re optimizing for.
- Embody
A low advertised introductory sermorelin price with clear attention to cancellation and refund limits
See Embody → - EverPrime
Adults comparing sermorelin plans who can confirm total billing, lab charges and pharmacy assignment before enrolling.
See EverPrime →
Nuform HealthComparing injectable against oral NAD⁺ if you are willing to prepay in kits
See Nuform Health →
More peptide telehealth reviews: RxPepsDirectRxSaludableRylo HealthRyze RxSpryStackMD
Editorial research
How we assessed this. This review reflects Aminoscope’s own read of Onyx Weight Loss’s publicly-stated model — pricing transparency, clinical oversight, medication clarity, and access — against our editorial methodology. We publish no fabricated ratings or first-hand outcomes. A partnership never changes the assessment — see how we make money.
Frequently asked
- Which states does Onyx Weight Loss serve?
- Nine: North Carolina, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine. The list is shown as a map on its homepage and contact page rather than as text, and the map's caption names only eight, so confirm your state during the free consultation.
- What do sermorelin and NAD⁺ cost at Onyx?
- Both are listed at $299 per month. GHK-Cu starts at $199/month, PT-141 nasal spray is $299 and glutathione nasal spray is $129/month. The sermorelin and NAD⁺ figures are high: comparable sermorelin runs $149 to $195 a month at several national platforms, so weigh the premium against what the named clinical team and named pharmacy are worth to you. Compounded; not FDA-approved.
- Which pharmacy dispenses Onyx's medication?
- Its contact page names Strive Pharmacy as its partner. Strive is a known compounding pharmacy, which is how the compounded status of its products is established — the site does not state it explicitly, so ask directly which formulation you are being prescribed.
- Are labs included?
- Only on the hormone side, where treatment starts with a $199 comprehensive assessment that includes a 46-plus-biomarker lab panel and a virtual review with a nurse practitioner. The peptide pages describe no bloodwork, so ask what testing your provider expects before and during sermorelin or NAD⁺ treatment and budget for it.
- Is Onyx Weight Loss legit?
- Onyx Weight Loss is a peptide telehealth service you reach through a video visit with a clinician. Its stated availability: 9 states: NC, CO, NE, IA, PA, VA, VT, NH, ME. What it publishes up front: Sermorelin $299/month; NC, CO, ME, VT, VA, IA, NH, PA and NE only, dispensed via Strive Pharmacy. It is cash-pay and states it does not bill insurance. Before you pay, ask in writing about which medications it dispenses.
- Is Onyx Weight Loss expensive compared with other peptide telehealth providers?
- Onyx Weight Loss publishes a starting figure of $299/mo. Across the 75 peptide telehealth providers we review that publish a single monthly figure, those run $49 to $349 with a median of $189, which puts Onyx Weight Loss above the median. The other 142 peptide telehealth providers we review quote only after an intake or price by dose, so they are not in that comparison. A starting figure is not a bill — labs, consultations and shipping are often charged separately, so confirm what your own quote includes.